Congratulations to the 2019 RCUH Outstanding Employees!

Willingness to go above and beyond, powerful in pushing the science agenda, high quality, exemplary work ethic, and exceptional performance—these are a few of the phrases used by principal investigators to describe the work of their high-achieving employees.

RCUH proudly  congratulates the 2019 Outstanding Employees of the Year honored at yesterday’s awards luncheon at Waialae Country Club! (Click on employee’s name to view their video.)

Outstanding Researcher/Project Manager/Professional

1st Place: Ning Li, Pacific Islands Ocean Observing System, UH School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology

2nd Place: Justin Hite, Kaua‘i Forest Bird Recovery Project, UH Pacific Cooperative Studies Unit

Honorable Mentions

Danielle Hull, UH School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology

Crissy Kawamoto, UH Cancer Center

Kiaina Schubert, Subaru Telescope

Rob Weryk, UH Institute for Astronomy


Outstanding Team

1st Place: UH Animal and Veterinary Services
Diana Blanco, Tereso Dace, Jeff Hall, Bob Post, Ying Zhang

2nd Place (tie): Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy & Astrophysics
Geoffrey Bower, Derek Kubo, Susan O’Neal, Peter Oshiro, Philippe Raffin

2nd Place (tie): East Asian Observatory
Graham Bell, Daniel Bintley, Steven Mairs, Izumi Mizuno, Harriet Parsons

Honorable Mentions

Mauna Kahālāwai Watershed Partnership (Kyle Alreck, John Comcowich, Kainoa Marchello, Marcus Richter, Daniel Tanaka), UH Pacific Cooperative Studies Unit

Pacific Islands Deep Sea Coral and Sponge Initiative (Sarah Bingo, Virginia Moriwake, Meagan Putts), UH Joint Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Research